Facebook Twitter

GC East Supports John Delany for Trustee

The independent Garden City East Nominating Committee has voted to support the nomination at the January 2016 Resident Electors’ meeting of current East Trustee John Delany for the position of Village Trustee from the East for the two-year term commencing in April 2016. The vote was unanimous, with 3 members absent and not voting.

Committee members who interviewed Trustee Delany were impressed with his command of the myriad issues that affect the Village and the many hours he devotes to Village business. He serves as the representative from the East on the Traffic Commission, Commissioner of Public Works, liaison to the Chamber of Commerce and one of three Trustees on the Public Information Committee, Law Committee, the Executive Staff Compensation Committee and the Committee to Fill Vacancies.

Trustee Delany previously served as a 17-year member and chairman (2003-2006) of the Garden City Library Board of Trustees. He was a member of the Citizens Budget Review and Advisory Committee from 2013 to 2015.

Trustee Delany served two terms on the EPOA board of directors, from 1976 to 1985 and from 2013 to 2015. He has served as a Village Trustee from April 2015 to the present.

Additional proposals for nomination as a Village Trustee may be made by petition filed with the Corporate Secretary of the EPOA at least 30 days prior to the January electors’ meeting and signed by not less than 15 resident electors. Any nominating petition so filed shall, in addition, set forth the residence addresses of the signers, the names and addresses of the persons proposed for nomination for Village offices and the offices for which they are proposed.

The Resident Electors’ meeting will be held on January 19, 2016, at the Garden City Casino, beginning at 7:30 pm. The Corporate Secretary of the EPOA is Joseph Courtade. His address is 15 Kingsbury Road, Garden City.

Voting members of the 2015 GC East Nominating Committee are: Jill Bauer, Joe Courtade, Judy Courtney, Jaime Gans, Bill Graham, Mark Hyer, Maureen McConnell, Ken Moody, Christine Mullaney (chair), Heather Nielsen, Brian Paradine and Leo Stimmler.